Latin tarot

The Tarot of Marseilles (also called Latin tarot) presents twenty-two major arcana. All of the cards bear a name and a number, except the Fool and the number thirteen, called the unnamed card, also called Death.

The 22 major arcana from the latin tarot

The Fool
I- The Magician II- The High Priestess III- The Empress
IIII- The Emperor V- The Hierophant VI- The Lovers
VII- The Chariot VIII- Justice VIIII- The Hermit
X- The Wheel of Fortune XI- Strength XII- The Hanged Man
XIII- Unnamed XIIII- Temperance XV- The Devil
XVI- The Tower XVII- The Star XVIII- The Moon
XVIIII- The Sun XX- Judgement XXI- The World


It is in 1713 that the first Latin Tarot game was made by a master from Avignon, Jean-Pierre Payen. Marseilles quickly became the biggest producer of tarot latin games in Europe. In 1760, the interest for tarot reading developed thanks to the realization of a beautiful tarot game by master Nicolas Conver. The colours’ precision and the design chosen helped influence the Tarot of Marseilles’ popularity, and the major arcana’s symbolism became the go-to tool for the clairvoyants and the card divination enthusiasts.

The Latin Tarot has largely vulgarized the knowledge of tarot’s major arcana along with their interpretation, by giving them names and numbers - the only exception being number thirteen, the unnamed arcane.